514-484-1145

Portfolio

Once Upon a Journey

  • Documentarire
  • Durée: 46 minutes
Langue: Anglais


Sur

Once Upon a Journey explore un programme d’études médiatiques unique en son genre à l’école secondaire Laurier Macdonald de l’Est de Montréal. La grande majorité des élèves de cette école sont des Canadiens de deuxième ou troisième génération, la plupart d’origine italienne.

Leur projet d’étude implique la réalisation d’entrevues avec des membres de leurs familles dans le but de constituer un livre de qualité professionnelle portant sur les expériences d’immigration de leurs proches. Once Upon a Journey déborde de la salle de classe pour entrer dans le quotidien des élèves.

Des troubles alimentaires au cœur d’une famille italienne obsédée par la bonne bouffe aux secrets de famille inavouables, jusqu’au conflit intergénérationnel entre une mère stricte et ses deux enfants, Once Upon a Journey dresse le portrait des joies et des défis qui attendent ceux qui grandissent dans une communauté à cheval entre deux cultures et systèmes de valeur.

« Ce sont des cinéastes passionnés et déterminés à suivre leurs personnages au cœur de terrains difficiles d’un point de vue physique et émotionnel. »

– Jerry McIntosh, ancien directeur des documentaires indépendants pour la CBC

Bookmark and Share

Projets similaires

The Invisible Red Thread

The Invisible Red Thread
Documentaire

Backroads

Backroads
Documentaire

Longshots

Longshots
Documentaire

Parcourez le reste de notre portfolio

514-484-1145

Our Work

Once Upon a Journey

  • Documentary
  • Runtime: 46 minutes
Language: English


About

Once Upon a Journey tells the story of a unique media studies program at Laurier Macdonald High School in the east end of Montreal. The overwhelming majority of the students in this school are second and third generation Canadians, most of Italian descent.

Their project has them interview older family members, then write and design a professionally printed book based on the immigrant experiences of their relatives. But Once Upon a Journey goes beyond the classroom into the homes and lives of several of the students.

From eating disorders in the midst of a rich Italian food tradition, to discovering dark family secrets to intergenerational conflict between a strictly raised mother who feels lost raising her two Canadian born, Once Upon a Journey portrays the joys and challenges of growing up in a community that bridges two different culture and value systems.

“These are passionate, committed film makers who are determined to follow their characters into challenging physical and emotional territory, no matter how treacherous the journey.”

– Jerry McIntosh, former Director of Independent Documentaries, CBC

Bookmark and Share

Similar projects

The Invisible Red Thread

The Invisible Red Thread
Documentary

Backroads

Backroads
Documentary

Longshots

Longshots
Documentary

See more from our portfolio