514-484-1145

Portfolio

The Invisible Red Thread

ou Langue: Anglais / Mandarin avec sous-titres Anglais


The Invisible Red Thread

Sur

The Invisible Red Thread suit le voyage de Vivian Lum du Canada vers la Chine pour découvrir le pays d’où elle a été adoptée ecomme en enfant.

Elle retourne dans son village natal et son orphelinat, et rencontre également Shumin Zhu, une jeune fille adoptée localement. Les filles comparent leurs vies alors que le film explore les effets à long terme de la politique de l’enfant unique.

The Invisible Red Thread trace les hasards du destin qui ont emporté deux filles dans des univers si différents, de même que les liens qui unissent encore Vivian à la Chine.

« Merci pour votre merveilleux film. Nous avons emmené notre fille et son amie au festival de film de St. Paul et nous avons vraiment aimé le film. Mon mari et moi avons été particulièrement émus, et les filles ont ri et ont adoré la scène du marché et de repas. Ça a généré de nombreuses discussions familiales! »

– Karen Anderson, Plymouth, MN

Galerie de photos

Récompenses

  • Nomination, Meilleur documentaire multiculturel, Yorkton Film Festival
  • Mention honorable, Columbus International Film and Video Festival
  • Festival des Films du Monde de Montréal
  • Vancouver Women in Film Festival

Omni TV

The Invisible Red Thread a été financé à 100% par l’Initiative aux producteurs indépendants d’OMNI Television. Ce fond de 32,5 millions de dollars est un engagement de sept ans conçu et mis à disposition des productions indépendantes dédiée à la programmation ethnoculturelle des troisièmes langues. Le fond vise non seulement à aider les producteurs indépendants canadiens à raconter leurs histoires dans leur langue d’origine, mais aussi à rendre ces histoires accessibles à d’autres communautés ethnoculturelles via la traduction dans d’autres langues. Il s’agit de la première, et de la seule, source de financement pour les productions indépendantes dans une langue non-officielle. Plus de détails sur le fond sont disponibles sur le site d’OMNI Television : www.omnitv.ca.

Bookmark and Share

Projets similaires

When two won't doWhen Two Won’t Do
Documentaire
Still LongshotsStill Longshots
Documentaire

Watchers of the NorthWatchers of the North
Série documentaire

Parcourez le reste de notre portfolio

514-484-1145

Our Work

The Invisible Red Thread

or Language: English / Mandarin with English subtitles



The Invisible Red Thread

About

The Invisible Red Thread follows fifteen year old Vivian Lum from Canada to China to discover the land she was adopted from as an infant.

She returns to her birth city and orphanage and also meets Shumin Zhu, a locally adopted teen girl. The girls compare lives as the film explores the ripple effects of China’s Family Planning/ One Child Policy.

The Invisible Red Thread travels the twists of fate that brought these girls to very different worlds, and the ties that still connect Vivian to China.

“Thank you for your wonderful film. We took our daughter and friend to the film festival in St. Paul and we all loved the movie. My husband and I were choked up with emotions, and the 12 year olds were giggling and loving the market and cooking scenes. It has spurred great family discussions!”

- Karen Anderson, Plymouth, MN

Photo gallery

Awards

  • Nomination, Best Multicultural Documentary, Yorkton Film Festival
  • Honorable Mention, Columbus International Film and Video Festival
  • Montreal World Film Festival
  • Vancouver Women in Film Festival

Omni TV

The Invisible Red Thread is made possible with 100% funding from the OMNI Television Independent Producers Initiative. The $32.5 million fund is a seven-year commitment created and made available for the independent production of third-language ethnocultural programming. The fund is not only dedicated to helping Canadian independent producers tell their stories in their language of comfort, but also to make sure that these stories are accessible to other ethnocultural communities through re-versioning in different languages. This is the industry’s first, and only, major source of funding for the independent production of non-official language programming. More details on the fund are at OMNI Television’s website www.omnitv.ca.

Bookmark and Share

Similar projects

When two won't doWhen Two Won’t Do
Documentary
Still LongshotsStill Longshots
Documentary

Watchers of the NorthWatchers of the North
Documentary Series

See more from our portfolio